Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Horseshoe Gang -- Anti-Trap Music: First impressions from a total noob
Hello, I discovered Horseshoe Gang last night. I am a total noob and I don't know much about any of these guys in this circle of hip hop artists. I had to Wikipedia Crooked I just to answer the verification question to register on this website that's how out of the loop I am. So to be up front I found it on a leak blog and thought it looked kind of cool, I am a sucker for Hip-Hop groups like Bone Thugs, Pharcyde, Wu-Tang etc. so I said what the hell and downloaded it on a whim.

After one play through and several songs repeated over and over (Out of Touch is FIRE >Big Grin) I am totally hooked. This is the rap I feel like I've been waiting to hear again. It's like great hip hop from the late 90s / early 2000s, but still utilizes the technology we have today and the production is spot on, vocal levels and beats and everything are executed with a professional quality to them. Each song is a bit unpredictable, you could throw them all in a hat and pick random ones and you would probably have a good balance of windows down volume up bangers all the way to strong thought provoking crash-the-party messages to the industry.

Then you have some that are a little more subtly reminiscent of the Cloud Rap bubble around the late 2000s, like Falling Down. The vibe that they execute both styles and everything in between with is just perfect to me and speaks to me so well, I have personally a bit of a niche appreciation of hip hop, I can appreciate music from every subgenre but I like it to have this specific type of sound that's hard to explain, but this album captures that sound within the boom bap / cloud rap / bangers like I Want, it's like I hit the jackpot on my own personal hip hop ideal beat types and styles and vibes within them.

P.S.
  • Is this the right place for Horseshoe Gang? I googled them and it brought me here.